Review: The High Mountains of Portugal

The High Mountains of Portugal
The High Mountains of Portugal by Yann Martel

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Why would you pick a Yann Martel? The answer is simple, You are a Pi fan. Here is the verdict, don’t pick up The High Mountains of Portugal, expecting a life of Pi 2. Well, I fell for the Ape part of the book description.
The book is divided into three parts. Part 1 is the lengthiest but still sounded interesting to me (almost)till the end. I loved the starting and the curious case of back-walker kept my interest going. Second part – I skipped most of the pages because of the, spoiler ahead, detailed description of the an autopsy which the author describes it as magical realism in one of his talks. But I found it difficult to read (blame the postpartum hormones). Third Part – If you skip majority of second part, the subsequent one is bound to be confusing and I have no intention to blame the author for this confusion. To sum it up, I ended up eating the dish, half cooked. Would go ahead with a 3 for the book(Why not, Even though I messed up reading this book, the author is a Man Booker prize winner :)).

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The High Mountains of Portugal

Leave a Reply

