Eat Pray Love – Review

Eat Pray Love – One woman’s search for Everything by Elizabeth Gilbert, Finished reading on 7th November 2009

eat-pray-love Synopsis

“Elizabeth is in her thirties, settled in a large house with a husband who wants to start a family. But she doesn’t want any of it. A bitter divorce and a rebound fling later, Elizabeth emerges battered yet determined to find what she’s been missing.

So begins her quest. In Rome, she indulges herself and gains nearly two stone. In India, she finds enlightenment through scrubbing temple floors. Finally in Bali, a toothless medicine man reveals a new path to peace, leaving her ready to love again.”

Ha! Finally I have fell in love with a book after a long time. I like everything about the book. I like the carefully and diligently designed cover, Eat – designed to symbolize pasta, Pray – made from the beads of Japamala and Love – decorated by wild flowers of Bali. I liked how the author divided the book in 108 chapters to symbolize the number of beads in a Japamala. Amazing, I am out of words to praise the book. Now wonder the book is the talk of the town right now.

Starting from he first page, the Book is a smooth read. I could not hold my admiration, as I read those paragraphs which narrates the authors state of mind. Those paragraphs describes the exact feeling you have at times (mind you, the reviewer is a lady), which you can not put it in words most of the times unless you are an extra ordinary expressive writer. Each of the three sections are sewed together in a flawless manner. You can glide from one section to another. Don’t ask me which section is best, I can not help being biased. I will vouch for the ‘Pray’ one.

I must say that through out the journey of the book, the author is a lot self centred and whiny, describing the her each and every emotions in detail. I don’t have any scruples over it, as a ‘Search for Everything’ does include mulling over the feelings. I did not mind it a bit.  But this could be the only hazard that would slow down your reading at times.  It is a book that you should read when you are on a relaxed holiday and when you are ready for some soul searching by yourself.  Astounding book and as Julia Roberts suggested, a perfect gift to all my girl friends.

Rating 4.5/5

Leave a comment